Condo Fire Injurys One Person

By: ralphbarrera

Apr 29 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photojournalism

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/1600 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II N

Austin firefighters responded to a structure fire at 1240 Barton Hills Drive at the Barton Terrace condominiums Thursday afternoon in what turned out to be a single unit fire. One woman was treated by paramedics and taken by ambulance with unknown injuries. I stumbled across this bit of spot news as I was headed to another assignment. I was passed by four fire engines, two ambulances and one police car. I thought the worse of course, so I followed close behind. After a few minutes on the scene and at a great distance back I determine the rescue units were being cautious. I did see this woman having some discomfort being treated on the scene. She was later transported to a local hospital, but for me I was a bit uncomfortable just doing my job. The paramedics looked at me with what seemed like disdain for taking her photograph. I really didn’t notice their stares since I was watching the woman’s face, until I looked at my pictures closer. I wonder if they know how we go about our profession. I’m not preying on anyone’s misfortune, I’m simply documenting a scene and more times than not the picture will never see the light of day.

Photo by Ralph Barrera/Austin American-Statesman

Leave a Reply

