My New Hero

By: ralphbarrera

May 27 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Photojournalism

1 Comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II N

Have oxygen will golf, that is Cesar Salas’ motto as he practices his fine putting stroke on the silky greens of Lions Muny in west Austin Wednesday afternoon. Salas, 88, who retired from the Army at Ft. Bliss in El Paso, has been dealing with Pulmonary Fibrosis, or a scarring of the lungs, since he was diagnosed in 1997. He uses oxygen to sustain his airway and help breathe. Salas loves to play golf with his two sons and boasts about beating them regularly. “They say I’m cheating, becasue I have a oxygen fix. I hit it straight. They hit it long, but in the trees.” says Salas with a laugh. He was practicing for their match tomorrow. I am a huge golf nut and when I saw Cesar trailing his oxygen tank I had to make a photograph. I said to myself, what a passion for golf he must have so I sneaked around a bit to go unnoticed before introducing myself and chatting for a while. I never know who I might meet in my job, but I sure make it a point to find out.

Photo by Ralph Barrera

One comment on “My New Hero”

  1. His passion for life is inspiring. There are NO excuses for not going for it.


Leave a Reply

