Down on His Luck, But Not Down on His Music

“This has been a tough year for me finanacially. Just playing the sax is a blessing and a refuge for me.” said Victor Martinez, an out of work certified auto body professional.  “As long as I have Barton Springs and my saxophone everything is good.” Martinez moved to Austin from New York City 30 years ago after he got out of the army while stationed at Ft. Hood. “I swim at the Springs, do a little yoga, meditate, pray to Jesus and then I practice the sax for couple of hours.”

Photo by Ralph Barrera

Leave a Reply

